Alison Lucy's Blog


Broken Mirror Time Lapse
April 19, 2011, 15:25
Filed under: Mirrored

Although I wanted there to be a contrast between the object of the mirror and its surrounding environment I felt that the frame of the mirror I used in the first two time lapses was somewhat distracting from the movement of the overall time lapse. Therefore I acquired a frame-less piece of mirror, unfortunately, as the title of this post suggests, it didn’t stay in one piece for very long! However after the initial shock of smashing a large mirror (and the possibility of seven years bad luck) I decided that I shouldn’t let it hold me back, perhaps this would create an additional  dimension to the videos.

I am pleased with the clarity of the sun’s path across the sky in this video. And I like the fact that the reflected branches look like further cracks in the mirror. I think it succeeds in drawing the viewers attention to the passing of time and beauty in the natural movement of the sky. I also think it’s interesting that we know that the sun is in fact not moving at all, it is us, the Earth.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

