Alison Lucy's Blog


The Old Man and The Sea
August 2, 2010, 16:06
Filed under: Abstract Gender

Instead of deliberating for too long over which piece of text I should respond too, I have given myself my own limitations and decided upon the novella ‘The Old Man and The Sea’ by Ernest Hemingway.

I have read this book a couple of times in the past and I find it a very beautiful piece of writing. Although in many ways the story could be described as a simple one (as the title so suggests) it touches on many themes of greater weight with the use of symbolism. My plan was too re-read the book before then going through it a second time picking out the quotes which spoke to me most, often because of Hemingway’s use of interesting imagery. Below are a few extracts that I personally found most interesting.

-‘They were old as erosions in a fishless desert.’

-‘Why do old men wake so early? Is it to have one longer day?’

-(La Mar) ‘What they call her in Spanish when they love her.’

(El Mar) ‘They spoke of her as a contestant or a place or even an enemy.’

-‘The moon affects her as it does a woman.’

-‘I hate cramp. It is a treachery of one’s own body…a cramp…humiliates oneself especially when one is alone.’

-‘I am glad we do not have to kill the stars.’

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

