Alison Lucy's Blog


Hidden Exhibition
January 25, 2010, 11:33
Filed under: Hidden

Here is a photograph of my final exhibition piece in situ. After numerous photographic sessions I edited down the images and printed in A3 format the ones I thought worked best. The experience of setting up the exhibition was most certainly a learning curve, it required a great deal of organisation and dedication from the entire group. My piece needed a space large enough to be shown in the correct composition, which had it’s difficulties. Being on a wall meant that I couldn’t pin my work up and images have become damaged as they keep falling down despite numerous efforts with double-sided tape to keep them up. This was a worry to me as I realise now how much time, effort and careful consideration needs to be given to the presentation of work. Despite the expense the process of mounting my images onto black foam-board added a great deal to my work, it looks a lot more ‘finished.’

Hidden Exhibition Label

‘The notion of ‘non-spaces’ that we encounter in our everyday lives was a concept I wanted to explore in relationship to Hidden. These spaces are often visually quite interesting and can have unexpected beautiful details, and yet because they serve no actual ‘purpose’ we pay them little or no attention. In consequence to this also started to explore the hidden ‘space’ within my recently broken external hard-drive, trying to make use of this now useless object. I experimented with paper manipulations to express this hidden space but without much success. I finally decided to re-approach photography with the concept of framing in mind which I later emphasized with the addition of yellow card. I hope that this aids the viewer in admiring the hidden beauty of the individual shapes that then begin to draw relationships with objects in other images. I feel that the pieces work best as an entirety, with the colour of the central image’s broken yellow torch being mirrored in the surrounding ‘framed’ photographs that then in turn frame the central image.’


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

