Alison Lucy's Blog


Hidden Ideas
December 18, 2009, 14:04
Filed under: Hidden

I’ve been struggling a bit recently. Got into the research side of the project initially and although I felt pleased with my general direction in terms of non-spaces it was the symbol of the black rectangle representative of my hard-drive that I felt I wanted to tackle the most.

The thought of making my hard-drive useful again in some way by creating work relating to the incident seemed to make the loss of work a lot easier to handle. Hopefully it would create an interesting project at the same time. I wasn’t sure whether to approach this by taking screen shots of all hidden symbolism within ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’, looking out for all the rectangles as ‘hidden symbols’ but I felt it was time to start making again.

Paper manipulation is something that I’ve only looked at a little bit in a previous project but it seemed to be fitting to work in 3d in order to capture the sense that something is within the depths of my hard-drive.

Julien Vallee is an artist I was introduced to recently whose work I thought was rather slick, and the geometric shapes he uses is useful to look a† in regards to the rectangle symbolism I was using in my work also.

Below are some not so wonderful photographs of some paper experiments I did with my hard-drive.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

